Drained

I’m too angry and exhausted to articulate the chaos in my mind right now.
But I’m going to try. Or at least start.

My city is at war with itself
And my police seem to have forgotten how to protect and serve
Or did they ever know?
Why do the shitty cops outnumber the good ones?
I know they’re not all bad. As individuals I’m sure there are many “good cops”
But when the system is as broken and corrupted as ours. .. no individual good cop can truly be a good cop
If that makes sense?

When racism and classism and sexism and ableism and homophobia are woven into every aspect, from training cops to absurd sentancing,  how can we expect anything other than what we’ve become?
How can we save our city when those with power are the most corrupt?
How can we claim the cpd isn’t reeking of racism,  when unarmed black men are bring murdered like it’s just another day?
Why is it that the postponed trial of Dante Sevin will make him the first cop to face trial over a fatal shooting since 1995?
It’s not because there haven’t been cops involved in fatal shootings, because that seems to be becoming a regular thing.

Why can’t we hold our police force accountable? Why can’t we hold police officers accountable? Why is this a problem in my city, our city? Why is this a problem all over the country?
Michael Brown and Eric Garner may be the two cases with the most national news coverage, but this is not a new problem.
The tragedies of their deaths and the failure of the criminal justice system that followed brought a nationwide perpetuated problem to light,  so what are we going to do to make this right?

I refuse to sit back and do nothing
Maybe we can make a difference,  maybe we can’t
But it’s time….well, long overdue. …to fight.

And some people have been fighting
For a long time
But there’s strength in numbers

The cpd already sees our protests as a threat
Otherwise there wouldn’t have been such a huge police presence (city and state) at today’s press conference and march
They wouldn’t be illegally accessing our phones data and listening to our calls
They wouldn’t try so hard to break up our peaceful protests

But I get it
If I were them I’d be scared out of my mind
We are young
We are loud
We are strong
And we are determined
We stand together
And we are fed up

So we’ll continue to march
We’ll continue to speak
We’ll shut down as many major streets and highways as we need to

We are not backing down
And we demand change

“This stops today”

So yeah. I’d be scared.  Because this is not going to be an easy fight.

And for now, that is all.. but I’m sure I’ll have more to say tomorrow

aces

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

